Vmware USB 转向


VMware USB

当需要同时运行多个操作系统时,虚拟化技术提供了非常多的好处。在一台机器上运行多个操作系统可以帮助用户缩减软件相关成本,并且在管理有限 IT 资源方面具有更大的灵活性。

不过,尽管有这些优势,虚拟化技术也存在一些缺点,会带来一些麻烦。 例如, VMware 工作站可能无法探测本地 USB 设备,本地 USB 设备不会显示在设备管理器中

虚拟化程序经常碰到的一个问题是如何让软件充分而可靠地从串口和 USB 设备转发数据到虚拟环境。 在某些情况下,用户可以从虚拟机连接设备,但是外设无法正常使用。

当将 USB 设备从主机操作系统重定位到访客操作系统时,如果虚拟机可用的 USB 端口有限,会出现问题。

本文将介绍如何解决这个问题,轻松而安全地连接任意数量的 USB 设备到 VMware 虚拟机

尝试 VMware USB Redirection 软件

VMware USB Redirection 软件解决方案

USB Redirector 是一款专业软件,可以将 USB 流量转到虚拟机。 该软件作为一个无线连接器,连接访客系统和本地电脑或任意网络电脑的 USB 外设。 该方案可以无缝对接许多虚拟环境。
UNG logo

USB Network Gate

Windows 通过以太网共享 USB
4.9 等级 基于 179+ 用户, 评论(72)
下载 14天的试用, 您仅可共享1个本地USB设备
 USB Network Gate


下面是如何使用
USB Network Gate
启用 VMware USB 转向:


  1. 安装 USB Network Gate在真实和虚拟机上(VMware 工作站)。

  2. 在用作服务器的真实电脑上共享 USB 设备。 这可以是本地电脑或者任意网络电脑。

  3. 从用作客户端的 VMware 访客操作系统连接共享的 USB 设备。

  4. 虚拟机将识别 USB 设备,并在设备管理器中显示。此时 USB 外设就可以使用了,就像直接连接在在用户正在使用的虚拟机上。


查看 VMware USB 转向视频指南



为什么 USB Network Gate 是最佳的重定向
USB 到 VMware 的解决方案?



  • USB Network Gate 采用先进的端口虚拟化技术,可以将任意 USB 设备重定向至虚拟环境。 使用这一专业软件工具,可以轻松地配置 VMware USB 重定向。

  • 即使设备无法通过原生方式连接虚拟机,USB Network Gate 也可以工作。

  • 在 VMmare ESXi 上尝试使用带可引导 HID 接口的键盘或鼠标时,可以观察到相关示例。 对于需要相关信号处理的外设,如视频和音频设备来说,原生重定向方法是不够的。使用 USB Network Gate 就可以消除这些问题。
尝试 VMware USB Redirection 软件

USB 到 VMware 软件的强大功能


USB Network Gate 使任何 USB 设备都可以通过局域网、以太网或互连网转发。 这样,即使您没有实际连接访客电脑的 USB 设备,也可以执行 VMware 工作站 USB 重定向。

只需在所有连接 USB 设备的联网电脑安装 USB Network Gate,即可与您的 VMware 虚拟机共享这些设备。

USB Network Gate 提供的这一独特功能,为透过网络连接虚拟环境提供了新的机会,并且可以在与 POS 设备、工业自动化系统和许多其它应用程序一起工作中发挥作用。

尝试 VMware USB Redirection 软件

如何使用原生方法连接 USB 到 VMware 虚拟机:


xianzai如果 VMware 无法侦测到需要用到的 USB 设备,我们看看如何使用原生方法解决问题:


  1. 当虚拟机的窗口激活时,附着在主机上的外设应该能够自动连接到访客系统。(在虚拟机设置编辑器中,可以通过关闭 USB 控制器面板中的自动连接,禁用该功能。)

  2. 在设备连接时,如果所有的虚拟机 USB 端口都被占用,将出现一个对话框。 用户可以空出一个端口连接 USB 设备,或者忽略新设备。 如果用户选择忽略该设备,该设备将连接到主机。

  3. 通过菜单路径 VM > 可移除 面板可以选择需要连接到虚拟机的 USB 设备。
  4. 最多同时连接两台设备。使用集中器也不会影响这一数量限制,因为侦测的设备是虚拟设备,而不是集中器。

  5. 每个 USB 端口都有一个菜单,显示连接到主机且访客 VMware 可以使用的设备。 将鼠标悬停在菜单栏上,可以点击需要连接的设备。 如果某个设备已经附着在该端口,可以点击新设备,释放该外设,然后连接新的设备。
VMware USB 3 重定向 - 连接新的 USB

要释放设备时,可以选择该设备连接的端口,然后在菜单内选择“无连接(None)。

当设备连接到主机时,如果自动连接功能已经禁用,用户只能通过菜单路径 VM > 可移除设备 重新连接。

尝试 VMware USB 重定向软件

VMware 工作站 USB 重定向:手动配置



连接主机的设备默认是连接到 VM 虚拟机的,而不是主机。 但是,如果 VMware 工作站 USB 设备没有显示出来,用户需要手动重定向 USB 设备。

用户可能还需要关闭 VM,或者插拔设备。

VMware 工作站会保留与主机 USB 端口的连接,但是,如果设备没有重新连接,且仍然可用,用户可以通过以下菜单路径手动重新定向 VM > 可移除设备 > 设备名称 > 连接, 该操作会断开设备与主机的连接。

配置 VMware ESXi USB 重定向



要在 ESXi 主机上实现 USB 重定向功能,用户只需要以下简单几步。

但是,在开始前,需要考虑到 VMware ESXi 只允许用户一次挂载一台 USB 设备到虚拟机。

如果本地 USB 设备已经连接到虚拟机了,用户将无法将其挂载到另一台虚拟机,除非该设备从前述虚拟机断开连接。

同时,用户要注意,只有在外设附着在虚拟机运行的主机上时,使用 VMware ESXi 才可以将 USB 设备连接到访客系统,这与通过网络共享远程设备的专业 USB 重定向软件不一样。

因此,以下是重定向 USB 设备至 VMware ESXi 访客系统的步骤:


  1. 登录 VMware vSphere 网页客户端,进入虚拟机清单。

  2. 打开虚拟机列表,选择需要连接 USB 设备的虚拟机。 右击并选择“编辑” 设置。 VMware ESXi USB 重定向: 编辑设置

  3. 选择 “新设备” 菜单和“主机 USB 设备”。选择 “增加” 选项。 ”连接

  4. 在下拉菜单内选择需要增加的设备。


有关 VMware USB 设备重定向的常见问题

VMware 工作站 USB 重定向指用于将附着在实际主机上的 USB 设备加入到虚拟会话中。 使用原生重定向功能,连接的 USB 设备一次只能在一台虚拟机上使用,并且在分配给其他会话使用前,必须先断开连接。 在某些情况下,用户可能需要连接 USB 设备,但是不需要使用全部的功能,这时可以采用简单一点的重定向方法。
要在 VMware 中使用网络摄像头,用户需要使用原生重定向功能,或者第三方软件。 在使用简易重定向方法时,用户可能会遭遇功能受限问题,或者虚拟会话设备管理器无法识别设备而引起的连接问题。 可靠的 USB 重定向软件 可以让虚拟机使用网络摄像头变得更加轻松。
VMware 使用 USB 设备最有效的方法是使用 USB 重定向器程序。使用 Electronic 团队开发的 USB Redirector,用户可以轻松地从虚拟会话连接 USB 设备。 只需要安装软件在主机和虚拟机,即可从访客会话使用 USB 设备的完整功能。 用户甚至可以拔出设备,插入另一台设备,并立即在 VM 使用新设备。
logo USB Network Gate
#1 at Network Software
USB Network Gate
在Windows下通过网络共享USB 设备
4.7 等级 基于 72 + 用户
Get a download link for your desktop
Submit your email address to get a link for quick download on your desktop and get started!
or

VMware USB passthrough


VMware USB

The virtualization technologies offer lots of benefits when there is a need for running various operating systems at the same time. Hosting multiple guest OSes on the single machine helps you cut software-related costs but what is more, it allows you to be more flexible when it comes to managing limited IT-resources.

Still and all, despite all its advantages, virtualization also has certain drawbacks that make its use troublesome. For example, your VMware Workstation may not detect a local USB device and it will not show up in the Device Manager.

One problem that is often encountered with virtualization apps is in enabling the software to fully and reliably forward data from serial and USB devices to the virtual environment. In some cases, you may access the devices from the virtual machine but have issues getting the peripherals to function correctly.

Another problem arises when USB devices can be redirected from the host to the guest OS but a limited number of USB ports are available to the virtual machine.

In this article, we will tell you how to get around this issue and connect any number of USB devices to VMware virtual machines easily and securely.

Try VMware USB Redirection app
14-day free trial

Software solution for VMware USB redirection

USB Redirector is a dedicated utility that allows you to direct USB traffic to a virtual machine. The software acts as a wireless connector linking your guest OS and USB peripheral devices that are attached to the local machine or any network-connected computer. The solution works seamlessly with many virtual environments.
UNG logo

USB Network Gate

Share USB over Ethernet on Windows
4.9 Rank based on 179+ users, Reviews(72)
Download 14-day trial, You can share only 1 local USB-device
 USB Network Gate


Here’s how to enable VMware USB passthrough
with USB Network Gate:


  1. Install USB Network Gate on the real and virtual machine (VMware Workstation).

  2. Share a USB device on the physical computer which will be the server. This can be the local machine or any network-attached computer.

  3. Connect to the shared USB device from VMware guest OS which will be the client.

  4. The virtual machine will recognize the USB device and it will be displayed in the Device Manager. The USB peripheral can now be used as if it were directly connected to the virtual machine that you are using.


Watch our VMware USB passthrough video guide



Why is USB Network Gate the best solution to redirect
USB to VMware?



  • USB Network Gate employs advanced port virtualization technology to enable the redirection of any USB device to a virtual environment. VMware USB passthrough can be easily configured with this dedicated software tool.

  • Even devices that cannot be connected to virtual machines by native methods are supported by USB Network Gate.

  • An example can be seen when attempting to use a keyboard or mouse with a bootable HID interface on VMware ESXi. Native methods are not sufficient to redirect neither these nor other peripherals such as video and audio devices which demand coordinated signal processing. The use of USB Network Gate eliminates this problem.
Try VMware USB Redirection app
14-day free trial

The powerful functionality of USB to VMware software


USB Network Gate enables any USB device to be forwarded over a local network, Ethernet, or the Internet. This allows VMware workstation USB passthrough to be enacted even when you have no USB devices physically connected to the host machine.

Simply install USB Network Gate on all networked computers with USB devices attached and these devices can be shared with your VMware virtual machine.

This unique ability provided by USB Network Gate opens new opportunities for connecting virtual environments over the network and can be instrumental in working with POS devices, industrial automation systems, and many other applications.

Try VMware USB Redirection app
14-day free trial

How to connect USB to VMware virtual machine with a native method:


Now let’s see how a native method can help you if VMware is not detecting a required USB device:


  1. When a virtual machine’s window is active, peripheral devices that are attached to the host computer should be automatically connected to the guest system rather than the host. (This feature can be disabled by turning off auto connect in the USB Controller panel in the Virtual Machine Settings Editor.)

  2. If all of the virtual machine’s USB ports are occupied when the device is connected, you will be presented with a dialog box. Your options are to free a port by disconnecting one of the USB devices or to ignore the new device. If you choose to ignore the device, it is connected to the host machine.

  3. Specifying which USB devices should be connected to your virtual machine is done through the VM > Removable Devices panel.
  4. The maximum number of devices that can be connected at once is two. Using a hub does not impact this number, as the virtual devices are detected, not the hub.

  5. Each USB port has a menu that displays the devices that are connected to the host and available to the guest VMware. Hovering your mouse over the menu item enables you to click on the device to which you want to connect. In case a device is attached to that port, clicking on a new device releases the first peripheral and connects to the newly selected one.
VMware USB 3 passthrough - connect new USB

Releasing a device is done by selecting a port to which it is connected and choosing None in its menu.

If the auto-connect feature was disabled when a device is attached to the host machine, you can manually connect it through the VM > Removable Devices menu.

Try VMware USB Redirection app
14-day free trial

VMware workstation USB passthrough: manual configuration



By default, devices attached to the host machine are connected to the VM rather than the host. But if a VMware workstation USB device is not showing up, you need to redirect the USB device manually.

You may also need to do this after powering the VM off or unplugging and re-attaching the device.

VMware Workstation should retain the connection to the host machine’s USB port, but if the device does not reconnect and is still available you can redirect it manually by selecting VM > Removable Devices > Device Name > Connect, which will disconnect it from the host.

Configuring VMware ESXi USB passthrough



In order to implement the USB passthrough capabilities on an ESXi host, you should follow several simple steps.

But, before you start, take into account that VMware ESXi allows you to mount a USB device to only one virtual machine at a time.

If your local USB device is currently connected to a virtual machine, you will not be able to add it to another one until the device is disconnected from that machine.

Also, you should remember that VMware ESXi lets you connect USB devices to guest OSes only if the physical devices are attached to the host on which the virtual machines run, which is opposed to dedicated USB passthrough software capable of working with any remote devices over the network.

So, here’s what you should do to redirect USB devices to VMware ESXi guest OS:


  1. Log into your VMware vSphere Web Client and access your virtual machine Inventory.

  2. Open the list of virtual machines and select the machine that requires access to USB devices. Right-click and select the “Edit” settings. VMware ESXi USB passthrough: edit settings

  3. Select the “New device” menu and “Host USB device”. Select the “Add” option. Connect USB to VMware ESXi

  4. Now select the device to be added from the drop-down list displayed.


FAQ about USB device passthrough in VMware

VMware workstation USB passthrough refers to the method used to make USB devices attached to a physical host available to its virtual sessions. Using native passthrough functionality, the connected USB device can only be used by one virtual machine at a time and needs to be disconnected before it can be assigned to another session. In some cases, you may be able to connect the USB device but not access all of its functionality with a simple passthrough solution.
To use a webcam in VMware you need to use native passthrough capabilities or a third-party software solution. You may be impacted by reduced functionality or connectivity issues with the device not being recognized by the virtual session’s Device Manager when attempting to use the simple passthrough method. Reliable USB redirecting software makes it easier to use a webcam from within your virtual machine.
The most efficient way to use VMware with a USB device is with a USB redirector application. Electronic Team’s USB Redirector provides users with an easy method of accessing USB devices from within a virtual session. Simply install the software on the host and virtual machine allows you to access the full functionality of USB devices from within the guest session. You can even unplug a device and attach a different one and immediately use it from the VM.
logo USB Network Gate
#1 at Network Software
USB Network Gate
Share USB over Ethernet on Windows
4.7 rank based on 72 + users
Get a download link for your desktop
Submit your email address to get a link for quick download on your desktop and get started!
or